Board of Directors

G&C Mutual Bank's Board is comprised of nine individuals elected by the members. Their role is to guide G&C Mutual Bank into the future with managerial leadership and strategic guidance. Board Member Secure Login

Julian Kennelly

Board Chair & Chair of Governance, Nominations & Remuneration CommitteeJulian Kennelly
Non-Executive ‘Elected’ Director

Julian was elected to the Board of G&C Mutual Bank in 2002 and has been Chair of the Board since July 2011. Julian has chaired the Board’s former Information Technology 
Committee and is currently Chair of the Governance, Nominations and Remuneration 
Committees. Julian is also a member of the Australasian Mutuals Institute. 

For the past 20 years Julian has been employed by the Community and Public Sector 
Union – SPSF Group in Victoria as the Manager of Media and Communication Services. 
Prior to 1994 Julian held several media strategy and communication roles, including 
with the CPSU SPSF Federal Office, the Australian Services Union and the Office of the Leader of the Parliamentary Labor Party in Victoria.
Period of Appointment: 4 years to 2021 AGM

Alexander Hutchison

Board Vice Chair and Chair of Board Audit Committee
Non-Executive ‘Elected’ Director

Alex HutchisonAlex has more than 20 years' experience in the financial services sector and held senior leadership roles in both ASX listed and not-for-profit organisations. Alex has consistently been active in contributing to a number of industry associations during his career including the FPA, AIST and ABACUS.

Alex’s early career was in federal law enforcement with both the Australian Federal Police and the Australian Securities & Investments Commission.

Alex earned a law degree from the University of Technology (Sydney), has a graduate Diploma in Financial Services and attended the Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Period of Appointment: 4 years to 2018 AGM

Karin Hawkins

Chair of Board Risk Committee
Non-Executive ‘Appointed’ Director

Karin HawkinsKarin has extensive experience in the financial services industry having successfully held executive roles in risk management, strategy and sales. Karin’s past roles include Head of Prudential Supervision – FINCOM; Head of Risk Management – ANZ Wholesale Mortgages; and Executive Manager – Mortgages with ANZ. Karin has also held a number of senior public sector roles including as an adviser to the NSW Premier and Treasurer on financial services regulation. 

Karin is also currently a Director of Uniting Financial Services; Managing Director of Allister Redlands Pty Ltd and Lead Consultant, APAC for the NeuroLeadership Institute. Karin holds a Bachelor of Business (UTS); a Master of Public Policy (Sydney); a Master of Arts (MGSM); and is a Graduate member of AICD.

Period of Appointment: 1 year to June 2019

Trevor Donegan

Non-Executive ‘Elected’ DirectorTrevor Donegan

Trevor’s professional memberships include: Fellow – Certified Practicing Accountants; Fellow and Life Member – Australian Health Services Financial Management Association (AHSFMA); and Member – Australasian Mutuals Institute. Trevor was the President of AHSFMA from 2001–2003 and also held various Association Committee positions between 1994– 2006. 

Trevor is an experienced Chief Financial Officer and currently provides contract services to the following organisations: Mental Health Professionals Network Ltd; MAS Allstruct Pty Ltd and group of companies; Melbourne Dental Group and the Weenthunga Health Network Ltd. Trevor has previously held financial management and accounting roles with Make-a-Wish Foundation of Australia; the National Youth Mental Health Foundation (headspace); Northern Health (Victoria); the Kingston Centre; North Western HealthCare Network and Australia Zoo.

Period of Appointment: 4 years to 2019 AGM

Gregory Hammond

Non-Executive 'Appointed' Director

Gregory HammondGreg has over 30 years’ experience as a lawyer specialising in banking, capital markets and the governance, supervision and regulation of Australia’s financial system. He advised mutual financial institutions on governance, treasury and capital issues for many years. 

He was a partner of King & Wood Mallesons (and its predecessor firm, Mallesons Stephen Jaques) for over 27 years, and since retiring from the firm in 2014 has taken up a number of roles in academia, the banking and finance sector, charities and not-for-profit organisations. 

He served on the governing board of Mallesons Stephen Jaques and the firm’s audit committee, and has over 20 years’ experience on the boards of not-for-profit organisations. His current roles include being an Adjunct Fellow with the Applied Finance Centre at Macquarie University, chair of Anglicare Sydney and the Australian College of Theology, a director of Opportunity International and a member of the Glebe Administration Board (the trustee of the Diocesan Endowment for the Anglican Diocese of Sydney).

Period of Appointment: 1 year to December 2018

Peter Clarke

Elected Director

Peter ClarkPeter is a highly qualified and experienced finance professional and has held a number of senior executive roles at AMP. He was responsible for the development of AMP’s funds management exposure to the Industry Super Funds, growing funds under management to over one billion dollars. He was the Managing Director of Cobalt Solutions, the AMP subsidiary responsible for the run-off of AMP’s reinsurance subsidiary that it acquired as a result of the purchase of GIO. At the time this was one of the largest run-off portfolios in the world. Peter joined the Board of AMP 
Credit Union (Quay Credit Union) in early 2008 and was the Chair from December 2014 up until the merger with G&C Mutual Bank. 

Peter holds a Bachelor of Economics, is a Certified Practising Accountant, a Fellow of the Finance Institute of Australia, a Senior Associate of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance, a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Member of the Australian Mutuals Institute.

Period of Appointment: 3 years to AGM 2019

Steve Helmich

Appointed Director

Steve HelmichDip FP (Diploma Financial Planning), FANZII (Fellow ANZ Insurance Institute), SF Fin (Senior Fellow FINSIA), MAICD (Member Australian Institute of Company Directors) and a graduate of the Advanced Executive Program (Kellogg Institute – Northwestern 

During his career at AMP (Quay Credit Union), Steve successfully led the financial planning business through periods of reform and change. He was responsible for the strong growth in AMP Financial Planning and Hillross as well as the establishment of the Horizons Financial Planning Academy. He is a past Chairman of the Financial 
Planning Association of Australia (2002 – 2004), a past Trustee & the Chair of Future2 (the foundation of the Australian Financial Planning Association) and a past Director 
and Chair of the global Financial Planning Standards Board (FPSB). 

Steve is currently Chair of the Affinia Licensee (TAL Group).

Period of Appointment: 1 year to 1 September 2019